Author Topic: how to get gapps on ifroyo  (Read 25121 times)

zoppa

  • Guest
Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo
« Reply #105 on: October 12, 2010, 10:40:26 PM »
Did it work for you?
And btw, edit your post and remove the damn full quote.

Offline tarod

  • Member
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo
« Reply #106 on: October 15, 2010, 06:28:18 PM »
Surprisingly, that last set up instructions kind of worked for me.  I was able to get the apps on the idroid but still have an issue connecting.  I'm thinking that this is the larger issue at least in my case.  I can connect to wifi and even adb over wifi.  However, the phone is not using the wifi to successfully connect to the internet.  For example, the web browser times out.  I think if I could connect to Google then I could sync, I'm just not connecting.

Any suggestions?

Offline Ryan

  • Member
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo
« Reply #107 on: October 23, 2010, 05:19:42 PM »
I followed mrnhim's instructions but I'm still getting "Can't establish a reliable data connection to the server."

Offline therealduckie

  • Member
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo
« Reply #108 on: November 11, 2010, 11:33:46 PM »
I tried installing this using the new Froyo 2.2 from HERE but it leaves the device unbootable. In other words, it keeps repeating the ANDROID logo over and over but never boots into the system.

Has anyone had any success using another tutorial or by changing something in this one?


Offline ddominator

  • The Dominator
  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 957
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Sold his soul to Google
    • View Profile
    • Unofficial iDroid News Blog
  • iDevice: iPhone 2G 3.1.3
  • iDroid Version: MoJo 1.0.4.1
  • Jailbreak: redsn0w 0.94 FTW!!!
Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo
« Reply #109 on: November 11, 2010, 11:38:27 PM »
It's really buggy since the best way to have Google Apps is to have them installed already and not through some hacks like this guide.

However, we are not authorized by Google to do that. It's also illegal to do that unless Google gives permission.
Help Google takeover the world. Use Android on your mobile devices, use Chrome Browser, use Chrome OS!!!

Offline therealduckie

  • Member
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo
« Reply #110 on: November 11, 2010, 11:39:53 PM »
Yes, I am well aware of that.  I read the FAQ and other posts.  I own a gPhone so I am trying to do this legitimately.

Offline frame

  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo
« Reply #111 on: November 15, 2010, 12:03:46 AM »
[...]
then adb into your device and run
Code: [Select]
./adb shell
mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
exit

then....

Code: [Select]
./adb push app /system/app

wait for everything to be copied over
then...

Code: [Select]
./adb shell
chmod 6755 /system/app/SetupWizard.apk
reboot

once you are back into android go through the setup and gapps should be installed.

is it possible to execute these commands on the device itself, without ADB, using some shell on idroid?
« Last Edit: November 15, 2010, 12:07:17 AM by frame »

Offline stephen519

  • Member
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
  • iDevice: iPhone 3G
  • iDroid Version: Bootlace
  • Jailbreak: UNKNOWN
Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo
« Reply #112 on: November 22, 2010, 08:10:14 AM »
Yes, I got a working market and the rest of the Gapps...

This is what I did:
I installed iDroid 1.0.2 using Bootlace, then followed this thread to install the Gapps.
At first I got this error saying that it cannot establish connection to use my google account.
Then I wanted to try to install some application without using the market. I tried to download an .apk file using the browser, but I always got "Download unsuccessful" so it occurred to me that maybe it's because my sdcard isn't configured. So i switched back to iOS, and created /private/var/sdcard using ssh.
Then I could download the .apk file, open it and install it (using the built-in android installer).
After that I tried again to add my google account, and it just worked.

I thought it was because of the sdcard folder, but maybe it's also because I installed some app (it was fring, btw).
Or maybe it was just good timing with google servers...

I hope it helps.

Do you mean that....
I should first create a folder /private/var/sdcard  and put the .apk into it?
And then it will be automatically installed?
actually, I dont understand what @YUNK mean....><
Can anybody show me graphically....><?

Offline smokinguns

  • Member
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo
« Reply #113 on: November 22, 2010, 10:38:44 AM »
I will try to use BuglessBeast 0.1 and check if they work. Will post back the results here.

Offline knny1491

  • Member
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
  • iDevice: iphone 3g
  • iDroid Version: 0.2
  • Jailbreak: redsnow
Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo
« Reply #114 on: December 07, 2010, 09:19:43 PM »
That fixed it, you are the man.

Offline professordes

  • Member
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
  • iDevice: iPhone 3G
  • iDroid Version: MoJo 1.0.5
  • Jailbreak: redsn0w
Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo
« Reply #115 on: December 28, 2010, 04:38:53 PM »
Pushing the contents of /system/app (minus flash and launcher2) across from Bugless Beast Froyo 0.1 on iDroid 1.0.5 installed via Bootlace on an iPhone 3G repeatably gives me a hang on the android bootsplash. Is there any variation which does work?