Author Topic: iPhone 3G 4.2.1(Red sn0w) icons missing during installing iDroid 11.02  (Read 1514 times)

Offline 4knova

• View Profile
  • iDevice: iPhone 3G
  • iDroid Version: Pepparkaka 11.01
  • Jailbreak: redsn0w
Hi, I've got a problem during installing idroid with bootlace on my iPhone 3g running iOS 4.2.1 jailbroken with redsn0w, .
I downloaded the latest version of bootlace with cydia and after that i tried to move the latest version of idroid 11.02 which i downloaded with PC to the directory with iPhone Browser during this my spring board crashed and many of my icons including cydia , bootlace , phone , camera , sms , and many other faded. i dont know what to do to get them back.
Please help me , sorry if i posted it in wrong topic.

Offline ddominator

• Global Moderator
  • Trust me, I'm a doctor.
    • View Profile
    • Unofficial iDroid News Blog
  • iDevice: iPhone 2G 3.1.3
  • iDroid Version: Pepparkaka (ddominator custom)
  • Jailbreak: redsn0w 0.94
Yeah this belongs in 3G support and not Bootlace.

Anyways, back to your problem...

So while you were transferring the images to /private/var/idroid, your iphone somehow crashed?  For one thing iPhone Explorer doesn't crash your phone (unless you did something crazy like delete some important stuff) so something else must have screwed with iOS.

SIMPLEST POSSIBLE SOLUTION: Have you tried rebooting?  Sometimes, missing icons come back after a reboot.

QUICK SOLUTION: Do a restore then re-jailbreak.  Hopefully you've backed up first.  And hopefully your icons will reappear.

LONG COMPLICATED SOLUTION: We find out what went wrong and try to fix it from there.

For the long complicated solution:
1. How exactly did springboard crash? While doing the file transfer in iPhone Explorer? What was the iPhone doing at this time (being idle or where you playing games)?
2. Are there any apps installed that mess with your springboard like heavy winterboard themes?